Quandary Peak

Have you ever wanted to hike a Colorado 14er but don’t know which one to do first? Well, I’m here to help with that.

See my video about Quandary here: Quandary Peak

Quandary Peak is a perfect first 14er for you. It is one of the shorter and easier 14ers to hike, if there is such a thing. None of them are easy; but, there are easier ones and this is one of them.

Coming out of tree line

I always recommend getting started around 4-5am to summit a 14er. The rule of thumb is to be off the summit by noon because the afternoon thunderstorms start rolling in.

You want to dress in layers, even if you are doing it in the summer. The weather on a 14er can be so unpredictable. For instance, we attempted Quandary in the middle of summer a few years ago. About halfway up, a snowstorm rolled in and we didn’t have gloves. It was so cold. We ended up turning around and heading back to the car. I have since summited Quandary twice and I was better prepared both times.

Now, for all the juicy details you’ve been waiting for. Quandary is 7.5 miles out and back. It is heavily trafficked. If you can, do it during the week when everyone’s at work. Otherwise, you will be one of many in a line of people heading up the mountain. It is very busy. The earlier you start, the more people you will avoid. You won’t be by yourself regardless of when you do it.

Some people prefer to take trekking poles but I go faster without them on this hike. This trail is extremely rocky and the rocks are loose. You will slide in some places which is why some people prefer trekking poles. This trail is also very exposed and the wind can be brutal. Bring layers and sunscreen! I also recommend a hat.

The first few miles you will be weaving through the trees. As you come out of tree line, the view is amazing! You will see wildflowers, marmots, and if you time it right, you will see the sunrise above tree line.

Take plenty of snacks and water. Always stay hydrated. You could experience altitude sickness if you don’t drink enough water. Altitude sickness on the top or side of the mountain is not fun. If you aren’t acclimated, I highly recommend grabbing a can or two of oxygen.

The last mile of this hike just sucks. It’s straight up, or at least it felt straight up to me. It is rocky and the rocks are loose. At times, you may need to route find. You will also experience 1 false summit. Don’t give up, just keep on moving. It’s worth it!

As strange as it sounds, I highly recommend cutting your toenails before hiking Quandary. The way down is tough on the toes. I also recommend bringing “heel blister bandages.” Both of these suggestions could mean the difference of hours making it up or back down.

(Yes this is my photo. I own Colorado Wild.) This is a portion of the last mile. If you look close, you can see the line of people all the way up the ridge to the summit. It looks easy. Believe me, it’s not.
My husband got one of me hiking up the ridge. This was my first summit of Quandary. I didn’t use trekking poles on my second summit of Quandary.

Once you’re at the top, CONGRATS! You made it baby! Pop open a beer and enjoy the view. (Just be sure to pack out what you pack in. We want to keep Colorado beautiful.) If you’re lucky, you’ll get to see a few of the gorgeous mountain goats that live on Quandary. They are so majestic. But be careful if you take your pup; the goats are very territorial, especially if they have babies.

The way down is really quick. We got down in 2 hours. We didn’t really stop on the way back. We just kept on going until we got back to the vehicle. I was ready to be back.

Believe it or not, I summited this mountain twice in 2 weeks. The second time was for an elopement. I am an adventure photographer and a couple hired me to hike to the summit with them and take photos of their vows. Check out a few of their EPIC photos below. You can also see more of my work or hire me using this link: The Colorado Wild

Published by Faith Brewer

Hey y’all, heyyy! I’m Faith. I am an adventure photographer in Colorado. So, I am constantly hiking, biking, and snowboarding to find my next photo destination.

One thought on “Quandary Peak

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started